National Honours and Awards

National Honours and Awards

A local system of national awards and honours which gives special recognition to citizens of Barbados who distinguish themselves in various fields of endeavour was instituted in November 1980.

The system provides for:


- in which there are four classes of awards

(a)  Knight or Dame of St. Andrew (KA) or (DA): for extraordinary and outstanding contribution in service to Barbados or to humanity at large.

(b)  Companion of Honour of Barbados (CHB): for distinguished national achievement and merit.

(c)  The Crown of Merit - which is made in two grades: the Gold Crown of Merit (GCM) and the Silver Crown of Merit (SCM): for high meritorious service or achievement in Science, the Arts, Literature, Sport, Civic duties or any other endeavour worthy of national recognition.

(d)  The Barbados Service Award - which is made in two grades: the Barbados Service Star (BSS) and the Barbados Service Medal (BSM): for meritorious work in the civil, fire, military, police, prison or other protective services or in any similar field or endeavour.


  • The Barbados Star of Gallantry (SG) - for an act of conspicuous courage in circumstances of extreme peril.
  • The Barbados Bravery Medal (BM) - for an act of bravery in hazardous circumstances.


This is exclusively for members of the Barbados Defence Force, the Royal Barbados Police Force, the Barbados Fire Service and the Prisons Service, in recognition of long and faithful service.

Services Medal of Honour - 15 - 25 years' service.

  • clasps and Services Medal of Honour - 25 - 30 years' service
  • clasps and Services Medal of Honour - 30 - 35 years' service
  • clasps and Services Medal of Honour - over 35 years' service
Share Page